“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

In the petition, the author concludes that the land which is under Youngtown Wildlife Preserve should not be given to building a small hotel because it will have disastrous consequences on their area and it will not benefit their community. However, the author supports his conclusion with three assumptions that if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the writer presumes, without evidence that the land is under Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the land is under the Government and it has the entire ownership of the land. In addition, it is the sole authority and can make any decisions related to whom the land should be given and how the land should be used for the betterment of the country. It is also possible that the Government is using the land for developing the Youngtown area which might have long-term benefits. Or perhaps the Smith Corporation has taken the contract for this project and also has the authority to do anything. if either of these scenarios is true, then the author's contention that the land belongs to Youngtown does not hold water.

Second of all, the author claims that the sanctuary has 300 bird species that live in Youngtown but this may not necessarily be true. It is possible that the sanctuary has only a few species of birds and is claiming that there are a lot of 300 bird species so that they can get ownership of the land. In addition, they might be doing this so that can use the sanctuary for some other purposes like organizing events, shelter for people, or using it as a park so that a lot of people can go whenever they want without restrictions. Perhaps, there might be 300 species but only during summer and then migrate to some other place and they are exploiting this fact to claim they have 300 bird species. For example, in Banergatta wildLife Preserve there are a lot of bird species during winter.

Finally, it is stated that building a small hotel will not benefit the community and have disastrous consequences. It is possible that while building the hotel the Smith Corporation curtail the pollution and build the hotel scrupulously without making a strident sound. It is possible that by building hotels employment opportunities might increase and this, in turn, increases the economy of this place. In addition, a lot of people in Youngtown who are unemployed can get a job. If a small hotel is built then many tourists might visit the sanctuary and this can also increase employment opportunities. People in the Youngtown area can work as tourist guides.

In conclusion, It is possible that building a small hotel will not benefit the community. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three assumptions. Thus the author needs to provide additional evidence on three fronts: the land is under Youngtown, sanctuary as 300 species, and building hotel will not benefit the community.