It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

It is critically important that students learn and thrive in all their classes. Personally, I believe that It is more important to learn ideas and concepts. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in this essay.

Firstly, we should understand ideas and concepts because they are difficult to interpret in tough situations. As we all know that the facts are simple and easy to know. For example, when I was pursuing engineering in Computer Science, I would learn a lot of concepts every semester and also learned how to generate ideas to make things simpler. If there is a problem statement then I will first write down the facts by googling it. Now I have the facts so I will have to think of a new idea that will be applied to this problem. Surprisingly, the ideas cannot be found on google because they might have already been implemented or are too old. Consequently, I have to recollect the concept and ideas which I have learned before, then think of a new idea and apply it.

Secondly, concepts and ideas are updated regularly and keep changing . We all know as technology grows the ideas and concepts become old and they start to get updated to the newer generation. However, Facts are always the same it will not change. For example, before in my Bharatanatyam class, we would only dance for traditional songs and in indian attire but now the concept is changed. We now inculcate western dance form in Bharatanatyam to reach out to larger audiences. So the fact is same but the way we are presenting it with newrs ideas makes it more interesting.

Finally, by learning concepts and ideas we would have a strong opinion and base. Since, we know a lot of ideas we would be the first one to express our opinion when there is some situation. For example, when I started working in an industry, there was some problem which the technology they used. They always used the old one from a long time. So, I suggested them the new Algorithm with better performance. I was able to do it because my concepts were clear,

In conclusion, I strongly feel that we should understand ideas and concepts. This is because they are difficult to understand in tough situations, they keep changing and we'll be able to keep a good point of view.