“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

Argument Analysis.

Graded on 1-6 scale.

Any suggestions and score evaluations would be appreciated

According to the members of an environmental protection group, there are no circumstances under which the sale of a small part of the land of Youngtown Wildlife Preserve will benefit the community. Hence, they strongly suggest that this sale to The Smith Corporation for the development of the land should not be permitted. While the author’s assertions could be true, he should provide adequate answers to the following three questions in order to increase the persuasiveness of his suggestion.

Firstly, the members of the environmental protection group state that 300 bird species live in our area. However, he fails to mention the source of this information which could be apocryphal, and hence the credibility of this statement comes into question. Perhaps, the source of this survey was an amateur bird-watcher who thought he had seen 300 different species in the area. There is a very high possibility that the number of species native to this area is very less compared to the given number and that the rest are just migratory birds who come and go as and when it suits them. This leads to a possibility of another scenario that the number of bird species stated in the extract could be the different number of species seen throughout the entire year and only a very few species of birds are present in the sanctuary at a particular given time. If any of the above-stated scenarios are true, the group’s statement could be seriously weakened.

The group asserts that even though only a small percentage of land is being bought by The Smith Corporation, it would have disastrous consequences on their area. However, the group does not provide any supporting material or facts that lead them to this conclusion. It is highly plausible that the part of the land they are acquiring is not home to any of the bird species. Another possibility could be that this land could be a barren land without any trees and might not even be important to the sanctuary. In addition, there is a good chance that this part of the land might be affecting the overall beauty of the sanctuary. The extract mentions that The Smith corporation promises the preservation of the sanctuary however the group does not trust their promise. However, there is no proof that the corporation has previously failed to fulfill its promises. There is a high probability that they have previously been under similar circumstances and have actually preserved the environment. The group is required to shed more light on these concerns in order to make his suggestion more compelling.

Finally, an argument that would decrease the credibility of this argument is the assumption that the number of tourists would be adversely affected by the building of a hotel. The basis of the group’s statement relies on the assumption that the building of a hotel would affect the bird’s population which in turn leads to a decrease in the number of tourists. However, there is no guarantee that the population of the birds would be negatively affected. It is highly probable that the population remains unaffected. It could also be a case that the number of tourists in the area would increase substantially because of the construction of a new hotel. The new hotel could have special arrangements like having a tour guide available 24x7 to help the tourists explore the Youngtown WiIldlife Preserve. Without any clarification on the aforementioned possibilities, the group’s assumption that this deal would only have a negative impact on the bird’s and tourist population is unwarranted.

To conclude, although the author’s suggestion might hold water, indicating that the acquiring of a small part of the land of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve by The Smith Corporation could have disastrous consequences on the area, he has to address the above-stated questions, if he hopes to bolster his suggestion. The author should shed more light on the credibility of his sources and dive into more depth about how it will adversely affect the population of different bird species.