An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in the Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the author, the solution to the problem of vitamin A deficiency amongst the people of Tagus is to adopt the new breed of millet which is rich in vitamin A. He also urges the government of Tagus to do everything possible in order to promote this new breed of millet. While the author’s assertion could be true, he should provide adequate answers to the following three questions in order to increase the persuasiveness of his suggestion.

Firstly, the author states that residents of the impoverished nation of Tagus are vitamin A deficient. However, he fails to mention the source of this statement, and hence the credibility of this statement comes into question. Perhaps the source of this information is a survey that was conducted in a non-scientific manner. There is a very high possibility that the survey was taken by a bunch of high school students who had no prior experience in taking an actual survey. Conceivably, the survey was taken just outside a hospital, leading to an impression that all the residents of Tagus are vitamin A deficient. Another scenario that may be true is that the respondents of the survey correspond to a very small sample size and may not be representative of the entire population of Tagus. If any of the above-stated scenarios are true, the author’s statement is seriously weakened.

Another possibility that will hamper the effectiveness of the author’s suggestion is that the farmers will readily agree to grow this new breed of millet. The author assumes that the subsidies provided to the farmers will be enough to convince them to grow these crops. It is highly likely that the increase in the cost of growing this breed of millet exceeds the subsidies they are receiving. In addition, there is a good chance that the amount of work required to grow these crops is exponentially higher than the previous breed of millet and requires the farmer to put in more hours at the farm. Also, the amount of time this crop takes to grow could be significantly higher than the previous breed. Without any clarification on the aforementioned possibilities, the author’s assumption that the mentioned subsidies would make the farmers more willing to grow this breed of millet is unwarranted.

Finally, an argument that would decrease the credibility of the argument is the assumption that the new breed of millet will be perceived readily by the people. For instance, the changes done to engineer this new breed of millet may result in a change in the taste of millet. It is highly likely that this change in taste would not be welcomed by the citizens of Tagus ultimately leading to the rejection of this breed of millet. It could also be the case that the new breed would be more expensive compared to the previous breed of millet and because of this, the citizens would refuse to accept this new breed. The author is required to shed more light on these concerns in order to make his suggestion more compelling.

To conclude, although the author’s suggestion might hold water, indicating that this new breed of millet will increase the vitamin A content of the citizens of Tagus, he has to address the above-asked questions in order to bolster his suggestion. The author should provide the credibility of the survey as well as provide additional information about the production costs of this new breed.