“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population

The argument that the Smith Corporation's development of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve is logical at first glance. However, when analyzing the argument it begins to crumble as it is based on several unsupported assumptions. Because these assumptions are not backed up with fact, this argument is not effectively convincing and more research will have to be done before the public is convinced that this development is negative to the bird population or to the community.

First the argument assumes that bird population at Youngtown Wildlife preserve will be negatively affected by the Smith Corporation. Although they only buy small area of the land still the development process can be built without harming the bird population. The bird species are extremely complex to understand. The actual population and their behavior pattern should studied before developing hotel. An hotel should be situated far away from the sanctuary. It should be built in ecofriendly way , population of the bird can live peacefully. The precluded assumption should be discussed in a constructive way. Before planning any build up in this area , an extensive research should be made to analyze the biodiversity of the bird population and the environment. The research is needed to find the more information about the birds and the impacts of building hotel . The research will reveal the negative or positive impacts of the hotel projects by Smith Corporation.

Secondly the argument shouldn`t assumed that the tourist who came for visiting the bird sanctuary will have stay in the hotel. Like the hotel built by Smith Corporation will be only staying place for the tourist. The argument clearly stated the tourists means Youngtown is a tourist place. There are more staying place for the tourists. Before making any decision we need to know that the land for sale is suitable for growing native fauna and the living of the birds.

In conclusion, while the author is not wrong in the fact that it is concerning when a wildlife preserve sells its land, several factors go into deciding whether or not this decision is a poor one. In fact, the building of a hotel to service tourists which fund this wildlife preserve may bring more tourists in, leading to more money for the preserve to use to improve the land that it still has. After all, in this situation it is the preserving of the bird populations that inhabit the sanctuary's land that is the most important. If preserving those populations is made more possible through the generation of more revenue, the building of a hotel may not be a negative one.