The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager:

“Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

Write a response in which you examine the argument’s unstated assumptions, making sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that human resource manager claimed by amending their insurance schemes and introducing a counselling program, the Diord corp would be able to reduce the `employee absenteeism “and hence increase productivity is not entirely convincing since it ignores such crucial assumptions.

First, The argument assumes that, the policy which proved effective at Tobor technologies will also be good at Dior corp. This is entirely a wrong idea because the argument does not provide any evidence for believing so. Even if it were the case, the policy was to amend the insurance coverage of the employees. While the policy is beneficial to the employees as it would help them with their treatment facilities. It would not reduce the number of leaves they take . The coverage would help an employee in recovering from his/her illness after it has occurred and during the course of illness, the employee might remain absent. Tobor knew the exact percentage of employees that were suffering from mental illness along with physical illness . 15 % of absence were attributed to the mental illness. This argument does not suggest that similar type investigation or procedure was followed and simply implemented in Tobor technology. This strategy in Dior corp which can have negative impact on the mental illness.

Second, the argument does not address the need of investigation before applying this plan in Dior company. Furthermore the psychological counsellor who operated on site in Tobor company resulting in long spending hours in the counselling which can potentially pseudo working environments which may lead to more sick days.

Third the argument has an aggressive analogy, besides the fact that the author does not simply imply that both companies are same, one of them is technology company and other one is a corporation. In this case, the policy is different, situation and everything is different. Thus the argument was not sound, The evidence in support of the conclusion.

The evidence in support in schemes and support of the conclusion. Same insurance plan and counselling as Tobor to reduce employee absenteeism, does little to prove the conclusion.

Ultimately the argument might have strength if the author could provide a precise number of sick employees, evidence that workers actually used the system. Therefore additional cost that could also increase the employer absents. If the manager can prove any definite relationship between the insurance and coverage schemes and reduction in employee sick leaves without these existence, the claims remains vulnerable to loopholes and pitfalls.