Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Do governments have the rights to break the civil laws? For the sake of national security supporters of this act claim that such acts are for the greater goods. Specially the security of the goods are more important than the civil laws which is important for the interest of nations. But these deeds attract the crime and impunity. Because it is undemocratic and can result in autocracy and despotism, it is immoral and illegal for the government to ignore the civil laws.

Governments breaking civil laws violates civil rights which goes against democratic principles. Government is in there to uphold these rights, not to diminish them; encouraging such behavior undermines and betrays democratic principles. For instance, the NSA scandal's revelations revealed the agency's widespread impunity, from listening in on private conversations to tapping homes, reading texts, and other nefarious deeds all done in the name of national security. Then civilians becomes terrorist in the name of security acts in this twisted measure . Is it really necessary to prevent the terrorist attack? No, it is not in the sense of democracy and civil rights because these heinous acts are the violation of citizen`s rights. The protection of national security should not justify the violation of civil laws.

Furthermore if such actions is not stopped, they may turn our current democratic situation in to an autocratic and despotism. Such powers can be destructive in the wrong hands of any group or agency. . The NSA scandals have sparked outrage around the world, leading to accusations that the US government has adopted a policy of impunity. This has even led to comparisons to the SS secret service of East Germany, which was responsible for spying on and threatening thousands of civilians living there just before the fall of the Berlin Wall.

In conclusion, breaching civil laws for the sake of national security is not justifiable by governments. Such irresponsibility leads to corruption and encourages tyranny and totalitarianism. Security is important for a country's overall health, but the government must walk a fine line between upholding the law and endangering national security.