“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

It is said that it is justifiable that governments ignore and bypass civil laws when in a vital situation they need to protect national security. I believe that breaking a law is not justified for anyone even for the government unless the security of citizens is really threatened.

Civil laws are some rules related to the citizens’ affairs, such as marriage, property ownership and freedom. According to these laws people have the right to manage their lives the way they like, and governments are not allowed to interfere. So, individuals are satisfied when their rights are respected, and governments do not infringe on what is considered citizens’ rights. Even politicians should not be allowed to circumvent the rules because after a while this situation can cause public outrage. For example, in my country, during the time of president Ahmadi Nejad, politicians were not forced to report their financial abilities, as a result, embezzlement occurred. Therefore, huge sums of money that were the right of people were stolen. At that time many individuals protested and went on strike because they believed that their civil rights related to the tax they paid had been ignored. To be precise, one of the civil laws is related to freedom of coverage. However, in my country, based on some political and religious issues, women are forced to have a hijab, and they are not permitted to dress in the way they like. Many Iranian women have found this situation unfair, as a result every year we can see that many of them, ranging from young to old decide to migrate to other countries in which they can gain their civil rights.

However, in some emergency situations, governments have no choice but to bypass civil rules to provide security for people. I can remember, five years ago, some opponents of government laws tried to evoke young people to go on the streets to break the windows of stores, trees and light fires. In this condition, officials were forced to forbid commuting on all roads to arrest offenders. Also, they interrupted the internet to limit the access of such people to other juveniles. We can see that accessibility of the internet which is a part of people’s civil rights for a limited time was curtailed just because officials wanted to keep national security. In such a situation, circumventing laws is acceptable. Ignorance of civil laws also can be justified with a straightforward example. In my country, there are special lanes for buses that car drivers are not allowed to use them, and driving offenders are financially punished. Most of the time, in the traffic, we can see Ambulances and fire trucks enter the bus lanes. At first glance, car drivers may find this unfair, but with deeper thinking and deliberation they can understand that by ignoring this law the occurrence of worse events is controlled.

In conclusion, in my view, civil laws should not be circumvented even by governments unless it happens in an emergency and acceptable situation for the creation of public security.