Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Do governments have a right to violate civil laws for the sake of national security? While supporters of this claim are quick to claim that the public good is more important than individual interests, critics claim that such behavior encourages crime and impunity. Because it is undemocratic and can result in autocracy and despotism, it is immoral and illegal for the government to ignore civil laws.

Even though terrorism and other serious security issues have made a nation's national security a top priority in this century, it is nevertheless wrong for governments or their security forces to violate innocent citizens' rights in the name of national security.

Governments breaking civil laws violate citizens' rights, which goes against democratic principles. Government is in there to uphold these rights, not to diminish them; encouraging such behavior undermines and betrays democratic principles. For instance, the NSA scandal's revelations revealed the agency's widespread impunity, from listening in on private conversations to tapping homes, reading texts, and other nefarious deeds all done in the name of national security. Then civilians becomes terrorist in the name of security acts in this twisted measure . Is it really necessary to prevent the terrorist attack? No, it is not in the sense of democracy and civil rights because these heinous acts are the violation of citizen`s rights. The protection of national security should not justify the violation of civil laws.

Furthermore, if such actions are not restrained and stopped, they may quickly transform our current democracy into an autocratic and despotic one. Such powers could be utilized for personal agendas if they are placed in the hands of people or groups. The NSA scandals have sparked outrage around the world, leading to accusations that the US government has adopted a policy of impunity. This has even led to comparisons to the SS secret service of East Germany, which was responsible for spying on the civilians and threatening thousands of civilians living there just before the fall of the Berlin Wall.

In conclusion, breaching civil laws for the sake of national security is not justifiable by governments. Such irresponsibility leads to corruption and encourages tyranny and totalitarianism. Security is important for a country's overall health, but the government must walk a fine line between upholding the law and endangering national security.