No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

The significance of cross field interaction have been debated for a long time. Personally, I believe that having outsiders to participate in a field or a researcher taking a new aprroach from another subject is beneficiary for academia without doubt, while the statement that no achievement of import can be made without it is still too arbitrary.

one of the first advantage of infusing kew knowledge or experience from another field is to bring what were originally altogether back. The history of science have bifurcate subjects that have tight connections to different area in academia, and such fact makes introducing ''new'' knowledge actually making the fractured pieces together. For example, archaeology, which has a long history with geology and paleontology are usually separated to different colleges after the founding father of modern anthropology, Franz Boas regarded it as a sub-field to understand anthropology. This makes it so awkward since there is no social-scientific methods to understand the minerals encompassed in potteries, and no doorways to deal with the ancient beasts' remains. using geological approaches to examine archaeological data, therefore, are definitely of import if people would want to solve the ancient mysteries.

another reason why many crucial scientific discoveries may not be achieves unless cross field collaborations are made is because lots of scientists usually preoccupy on using theories they are familiar with to solve the issues. Discourses or methods from outside may galvanize the researchers to think more broadly. For instance, the discovery of DNA structure couldn't be fulfilled without X-ray, the physical technology at-the-edge of that time. using such way to understand the genetic structure is just out of most biologists' thought in the mid-50s.

Nevertheless, the statement that no impressive scientific work were done without aids out of the field may be vulnerable to refutation. some are just findings that may be discovered one day. The excavation of Cambrian Lagerstatten may be one. what it only takes is time for people to discover.

In the nutshell, the collaboration among subjects are usually seen in important scientific studies. However, there are always some exceptions worthwhile to note that saying so may be dangerous.