"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this article, the author argues that all companies should hire people who need less than six hours of sleep per night in order to be successful. The author cites a recent study rating 300 male and female Metian advertising executives, which revealed an association between the amount of sleep executives need and the success of their firms. In my point of view, this argument relies on dubious assumption, and thus is unconvincing as it stands.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that the average of sleep hours at night is a good indicator of measuring one's sleep patterns. To be specific, the average sleep hours are insufficient because some important information, such as dispersion, is missing. Perhaps, those who have higher performance sleep a longer time on weekdays but sleep less on weekends, which leads the totally different insight from the author's conclusion. In addition, sleep at night cannot represent all amounts of sleep in a day. There is a possibility that one takes a nap during the day. Thus, the author should give more details of the study to absolve this doubt.

Moreover, the author relies on a dubious assumption that Mentian advertising executives can represent the whole population of workers. The respondents might be biased because they are engaged in the certain industry and the job position. There are other possible explanations. An advertising industry might be abnormal that the industry is so competitive that all workers should work hard with sleep deprivation. Or executives might have sleep disorders because they are in charge of the company's success and feel huge burdens from it. To bolster the contention, the author should prove that there is no difference between executive and general workers, and that advertising industry is a typical of all industries.

Finally and most importantly, the author unfairly assumes that the success of the business directly results from executives' sleep hours. However, the correlation relationship between the amount of sleep and firm's prosperity does not warrant causality. The direction of the causuality might be reversed on the studied case. Even conceding the executive's less sleep hours contribute to company's fast growth, it is plausible that company can grow fastly without executives who sleep less than six hours. In this case, other factors could be more critical, such as enthusiasm or loyalty for the firm. Before the author testifies that amounts of sleep is the most critical factor of company's best growth, we cannot agree with the author's contention.

In a nutshell, this argument is poorly substantiated and fragile in its given form. To strengthen the argument, the author has to vindicate all aforementioned doubts on the assumptions the author made. The author should illustrate the cited study in detail, prove executives in an advertising industry can represent all workers, and testify strong causality relationship between sleep hours of workers in company an its succeess.