"As a result of numerous consumer complaints of dizziness and nausea, Promofoods requested that eight million cans of tuna be returned for testing last year. Promotoods concluded that the cans did not, after all, contain chemicals that posed a health risk This conclusion is based on the fact that the chemists from Promofoods tested samples of the recalled cans and found that, of the eight chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find that the three remaining suspected chemicals are naturally found in all other kinds of canned foods"

The author presents the case of Promofoods where the company is claiming that their canned food does not contain the chemicals due to which the customers are complaining about dizziness and nausea based on the fact that the contents in the cans tested negative for 5 out the 8 chemicals that their chemists thought causes nausea. This conclusion of the author is extremely flawed as it does not contain the evidence necessary to support his conclusion.

The author tries to support his claim that the dizziness and nausea is not caused by the canned tuna of Promofoods by stating that 8 million cans were requested to be returned for testing of the chemicals. This although is a statistical data, it does not provide enough information as to conclude that a sample set of 8 million cans for testing was large enough or not. It completely depends on how many cans the company produces daily or monthly and if only particular batch of the tuna cans caused the complaints. Also, it is not known if the cans acquired by the company were from the same area where the complaints came from and hence it cannot be deduced that these were the cans that gave rise to the complaints.

Secondly, the author states that the chemists at Promofoods tested for the 8 commonly known chemicals that caused nausea and diziness. There is a high possibility that the dizziness and nausea is caused because of other chemicals that are present in the can of tuna but were not checked by the chemists.

The author also states that the chemists at Promofoods concluded that the chemicals in the tuna do not pose a health risk because the sample tested negative for 5 out of 8 chemicals that they knew commonly caused dizziness and nausea. However, it is quite plausible that the contents of the tuna can reacted with the remaining 3 chemicals and these 3 are the ones that actually pose a threat and are responsible for the complaints.

Hence the authors conclusion is based on fallacious and erronious assumptions. There is no concrete evidence that is present that the author provides that bolsters his claim that the canned tuna of Promofoods is not causing that nausea and dizziness.