Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

It is stated that the teachers' salary should be based on the students' academic performance. I disagree with this statement as I believe that a student's academic performance is not solely based on his or her teacher's ability to teach but it very much depends on the student's eagerness to learn as well. The following points will elucidate my stance.

As mentioned above, I believe that a student's willingness to learn play a huge role in gaining knowledge and learning. If a student is not eager and willing to learn, then all of the teachers' efforts will prove futile. Even if the student gets the best and the most renowned teachers in the world, he or she should want to learn from them. If this is the case, where there is no lack of effort from the teachers; side, but lack of eagerness from the students' side, then it is not fair to determine the teachers' salary on the basis of the students' academic performance.

Apart from this, there can be students of varying calliber in the group that the teacher is supposed to teach. There can also be students who are more comfortable with a particular subject and students who are not at all comfortable with the subject. This is natural and it happens with almost any subject. The teacher should not be held responsible for the poor performance of the students in that subject. A very basic and common example is when in a class we find people who love math and people who hate it. That may lead to the student performing poorly in the subject. In the same class, there will be people who excel in math and perform very well in that subject. The teacher had given equal attentation to all of the students and had treated all of them equally, but still there is a difference intheir performance. Thus, the performance of the students need not be directly proportional to the performance of the students. Every student is different and every student may have a different way of learning things.

Also, I believe that if the teachers' salaries were based on the academic performance of the students', then this would create a very competitive and hostile environment as then the teachers will only be encouraged to promote rote learning. The students may perform well academically, but they will never fully understand the concept because the teachers are forced to show good academic performance in order for them to earn better. This will not provide the students that unbiased, pure learning that they deserve.

I agree that it is often viewed that the students' performance is a direct reflection of the teachers' efforts and in many cases it may be absolutely true as well. Sometimes, we even start hating a subject necause we don't like the teacher teaching it, but that in no way reflects the teachers' entire character as a whole and hence it shouldn't even affect their pay.

In conclusion, I agree that for majority of the students', a teacher plays a very important role in determining if the subject appeals to the student or not, but it does not entirely reflect the teachers' ability to teach the subject as each student is different and something that works for one student, may not work for the other.