Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that the next franchise of Nature's Way that is to be opened in the town of Plainsville should prove to be very successful as Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives and the author is convinced that Plainsville is such an area. The author has provided a number of resons to support this argument. But the author has arrived at the conclusion by making a series of assumptions which if proven otherwise, will weaken the authors argument significantly. The following are few of the said assumptions that the author has made.

Firstly to support the conclusion that the residents of Plainsville lead a healthy life, the author states the fact that Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. But what the author fails to see is that the increase in the sales might not be the result of the residents of the town becoming more health conscious and trying to lead a healthy life. There can be a number of reasons for the increase in the sales. One of the alternate reasons can be that a new brand of fittness equipment which sells running shoes and exercise clothing has opened in Plainsville and the merchants are exporting the equipment elsewhere. The author has failed to state whether the running shoes and exercise clothing are being bought by the residents of Plainsville or if they are being exported.

Secondly, the author states that the local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full which leads to assumption that the residents are trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle. But the author fails to mention the number of residents that have enrolled in these classes or are a part of the health club. If the town has a lot of these classes and a significant amount of it's population was enrolled in these classes for health benefits then assumption would have been correct.

Thirdly, the author mentions that Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers as these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age. While this program might be beneficial for the students but the author has made an assumption that because the students have to participate in this program, their parents will buy products from Nature's Way. But there is no guarantee of this and before the parents even buy products for their children they have to consider if they can afford Nature's Way products or not. If they can afford products from a local shop which has the same quality and is cheaper then they will prefer that option.

Hence, although the author presented his argument, he had based it on a series of assumptions which may or may not be true and if not then will weaken the author's argument.