The following appeared in a memorandum from the new president of the Patriot car manufacturing company.

"In the past, the body styles of Patriot cars have been old-fashioned, and our cars have not sold as well as have our competitors' cars. But now, since many regions in this country report rapid increases in the numbers of newly licensed drivers, we should be able to increase our share of the market by selling cars to this growing population. Thus, we should discontinue our oldest models and concentrate instead on manufacturing sporty cars. We can also improve the success of our marketing campaigns by switching our advertising to the Youth Advertising agency, which has successfully promoted the country's leading soft drink.

The president of the Patriot car manufacturing company has recommended a number of changes in order to increase the sale of the company but these recommendations are all based on assumptions made by the president. Without evidence that these assumptions are correct, the recommendations may not prove as fruitful to the comapny as the president wants it to be. The following points will explain in further detail what all evidence will affect the validity of the argument.

Firstly, the president talks about the lower sales of Patriot cars as compared to their competitors. But the president has provided no evidence that the lower sale was due to the body styles of the Patriot cars. There could have been a number of other reasons, like lack of marketing and advertising, difference in cost, consumer experience, durability and maintainence, etc why the sale of Patriot cars was lesser than its competitors. Without narrowing down the actual reason for the lesser sales than the competitors and assuming that it was due to the old-fashioned body styles, the president will not achieve his goal of increasing the sales.

Secondly, the author states that there is a rapid increase in the newly licensed drivers, and to appeal to this crowd, the president wants to make changes in the Patriot cars like discountinuing older models and concentrating on manufacturing sporty cars. But the author has provided no evidence that this crowd of newly licensed drivers that he wants to appeal to, prefer sporty cars. The people who are newly licensed can belong to any age group and the rapid increase in the number of drivers could be due to reasons like the increased affordibility of cars or due to increased popularity of cars. There is no guarantee that the newly licensed drivers belong to only young people who like sporty cars, they can very well also include a large number of middle aged people who are just now getting their license for the first time. Also, there is no evidence provided that the older models are unsuccessful. There can be a high chance that the older models are the most successful and popular ones and discontinuing them will have the opposite of the intended effect. That is why without the proper evidence, the author's recommendation will have no positive effect on the company.

The author also mentions about switching the advertising to the Youth Advertising agency, which has successfully promoted the country's leading soft drink. But soft drinks and cars are completely different things and the author has not provided any evidence that the company has had any success in advertising cars as well. There is also no evidence that the audience that was targeted for thr advertisement of the soft drink is the same as the audience that will be targetted for the cars. Thus there is no sure way of knowing that the Youth Advertising agency will be successful in advertising Patriot cars.

Therefore, the president's heart is in the right place as he wants to boost the company's success but he has not provided enough sound evidence which will prove his recommendation fruitful.