Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument the author has reached the conclusion that the almost complete elimination of the western gazelle is because of the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve. The author has reached these conclusion on the basis of a number of assumptions and has not provided any evidence to prove that his assumptions are true. If the evidence doesn't point in the direction of the conclusion drawn by the author, then it would weaken the argument significantly and prove the conclusion untrue. The following points will elaborate more on the specific evidence needed to evaluate the argument.

The author mentions that 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the east Palean Preserve from the Western Palean Preserve because of the flooding in the Western Palean Preserve. The author also mentions that the the Eastern Palean Preserve has a larger number of almost all of the same species as the Western Palean Preserve. But the author does not mention any numbers that would allow us to evaluate the population of the Eastern Palean Preserve after the addition of the 100 lions and the 100 gazelles. The number of animals was more than Western Preserve, but how much more is not mentioned. Without this number, it cannot be evaluated if the addition of the animals from the Western Preserve would disrupt the food chain or not. If the number of lions were more but the number was in lower hundreds only, then the addition of the 100 lions would have virtually doubled the number of predators but if the number was in thousands, then the addition of hundred more lions would not have had a huge effect on the ecosystem.

Furthermore, as the author mentioned that the almost the sane amount of species in larger numbers were present in the Eastern Palean Preserve. This means that the predators, that is, the lions had the same number of choices in their prey but in larger numbers. Even if the problemwas the increased number of predators, there should have been decrease in the number of all kinds of prey but only the number of western gazelles went down drastically. The author has not provided any evidence that the predators pefered the western gazelle as their prey which would explain why only they have been virtually eliminated.

The author has mentioned that a hundred western gazelles were moved from Western to Eastern Palean Preserve and their numbers drastically decreased in the three years. But the author has not given any information about the conditions of the western gazelle before they were moved. If the species was endangered and near extinction, then then the increased number of predators may have had nothing to do with the decrease in their numbers. If their number was decreasing since a long time before the move, the author hasn't specified about the rate with which the number was already decreasing. Without this evidence, we cannot say for sure that the increased number of predators caused the virtual elimination of the western gazelle.

In conclusion, the author has tried to discover the reason behind the decrease in the number of western gazelle but the author has not provided enough evidence to support his conclusion which leads the conclusion to be considered specious.