An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author has given a recommendation in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverushed nation of Tagus. Although the author's heart might be in the right place, the recommendation given by the author raises a few key questions and without the correct answer to these questions, the feasibility of the recommendation cannot be determined. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on these questions.

The author states that the seeds for the new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A costs more but the farmers will be given subsidies for farming this new variety of millet. But what the author fails to answer is that even after the subsidies, is the quality of the grain good enough to generate enough profits for the farmers to continue farming this new breed ? This question arises because since the cost of the seed is higher, naturally they will be sold at a higher price than the normal millet. Since the nation of Tagus is already impoverished, the question to be answered is that will the people of Tagus be able to afford this new type of millet even if they know that it is good for their health ?

The author further mentions that since millet is the staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. But the author doesn't mention anything about the taste of this new variety of millet. Even though it is just a new breed of the same crop, there might be differences in the way that it tastes. So will the people of Tagus readily accept and adopt the new variety of millet even if it doesnt taste the same and is not like the staple food that they are used to ?

Apart from this, the author has mentioned that this new breed of millet is high in vitamin A. But the author doesn't mention anything about it's compatibility with the body. Since this new breed is engineered, has enough testing be done so that we know for sure that consuming this new breed will not affect the people of Tagus in a negative way ?

These questions prove to be pivotal in the determining if the recommendation made by the author is feasible to be implemented in the impoverished nation of Tagus or not. Hence the answers to these questions will help in evaluating the recommendation.