A recent study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid

sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy in incidents based upon paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention states that employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. On the basis of this study, the researchers hypothesize a few facts but they have done so on the basis of a few assumptions against which questions can be easily raised. The answers to these questions play a vital role in determining whether the hypothesis is cogent or not. The following are the most important questions.

The researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leaves feel pressured to work during time of illness for the fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. But what the researches failed clarify is that whether the accidents that took place were when the employees were actually sick. The study doesn't clarify that the employees taken into consideration were sick at the time of the work-related accident. If the employees were not physically sick when the observations were made then the researchers' hypothesis regarding impaired judgement or motor skills due to illness or illness related medication is rendered moot.

Secondly, there are a varied types of sicknesses. Some sicknesses are even of the type where the person can go about their daily life without the sickness proving to be a hinderence. In such a case even the employees who have paid sick leaves mght not take them and choose to continue daily. The question to be answered here is whether the nature of the sickness involved is take into consideration while trying to hypothesize on the study.

Furthermore, the researchers present that the highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepency in incidents based upon paid and unpaid leaves. But the researchers should also consider the nature of the incidents. They merely state that they show the highest discrepency between incidents based upon paid and unpaid leave. What needs to be answered is that how many of these incidents were due to employees who were sick while the incident took place.

The most compelling flaw in the argument will be determining the nature of the work related accidents and the skill level of the employees involved in the accidents. Employees with higher skill level will look for jobs with more benefits like paid sick leaves and hence the accidents taking place will be much lesser as compared to people with a lesser skill set who take up jobs with lesser benefits.

In conclusion, the answers to the questions can prove pivotal to the hypothesis of the researchers and hence they need to be considered and answered carefully for making the hypothesis more sound.