A recent study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with

paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees

who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid

sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job

accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related

medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy

in incidents based upon paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the

answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis

The study opining that employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave is riddled with a lot of discrepancies. Based on the conclusion of the study, the study is flawed with numerous flaws, some of which are highlighted below.

The study failed to furnished us with the details of the size of the sample studied in comparison with the number of companies that actually existed and it also lack the information of the location where the study was carried out. Based on the absence of these information, it is not convincing to conclude on the statistics given by the study as it can not be verified.

Similarly, the study failed to acknowledge whether or not the policy of the companies where the studies were carried out already address the situation of sick leave as some companies might have clearly stated that there is no payment once an employee is on a sick leave. in a situation where this has been stated in the company policy, then the staff will not have the need to go to work even when they are sick as there is no provision for sick leave whereas health is wealth. this point therefore weakens the claim of the study.

Also, the study failed to intimate us on the scale/yardstick used in qualifying an occupation based on risk assessment. what the study find to be highly dangerous might fall into the category of less dangerous in anther study. So, until the study furnish us with their classification hierarchy, then convincing one about their conclusion is illogical.

Conclusively,because of the flaws highlighted and some inherent ones that were unable to be highlighted due to time constraint, the hypothesis of this study is weak and it needs reevaluation.