In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40%

more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed

that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than

employees working in buildings cleaned with other cleansers. Therefore, to prevent employee

illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are

for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There is a saying that cleanliness is next to godliness.The cleanliness here encompasses all kind of cleanliness ranging from the personal hygiene to environmental cleanliness and spiritual cleanliness to the believers. The argument raised based on the study of two different industrial cleanser made several assumptions which were not explicitly stated. The general assumption that because Users of CleanAll doesn't fall sick frequently compared to users of other cleanser, hence other companies should adopt CleanAll as their cleanser is filled with numerous flaws which some are highlighted below.

The CleanAll cleanser was studied in comparison with supposedly next best cleanser. The study failed to state how the next best cleanser was adopted. Was the adoption based on quality or publicity ,or price range of the cleanser?, if it was based on publicity, does publicity translate to quality?, If it was based on quality, how many cleanser were sampled in comparison with the number of industrial cleansers available?. Until the laboratory can provide answers to all this questions, then the analysis made by it might be erroneous from onset.

Similarly, cleanliness of a building although aid healthy living but does not necessarily translate to healthy living. It is widely known that workers spend on the average 8 out of the available 24 hours in their workplace this translate to approximately 33% of their day. It shows that most of their day are spent outside the workplace. Part and the most important factor that aid healthiness is personal hygiene. No matter how clean an environment is, if an individual is not hygienic, such a person is more susceptible to fall sick. This is a part that the argument failed to address as it made the assumption that the work environment cleanliness is the major factor that determines the healthiness of the staff.

Furthermore, the argument failed to address the condition under which the staffs are working. If two companies whose building are clean and hygienic subject their staff to different working condition, then its bound that they both get different result. For instance, if company A staff are working for 8 hours with a break of an hour in between and company B staff are working for 10 hours without break with all other working condition similar, it can be easily inferred that the company B staff will get easily stressed out compared to company A which may make them resort to having more sick leave. Should the argument be able to specify whether or not the working condition is the same, then the argument might be more valid.

Conclusively, are the policy of the companies the same?, each company has its own policy which means the companies are bound to make different decision. For instance, it might be in the policy of company A that they will be adopting cleanser made by another cleanser producing firm as a sort of partnership for a particular period of time. During the period, the company won't be able to use any other cleanser including CleanAll, hence they have to stick with such cleanser irrespective of how effective the cleanser is once there is no clause in their contractual agreement which allows them to back out of the contract should they find a better cleanser. Until the argument is able to address all these issues, it will continue to be considered weak and got discarded.