The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all

the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The

switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council

reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help

Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help

evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to

explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The argument of town X reducing the city's electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes is one based on several assumptions which makes it a flawed argument. Some of the identified flaws in the argument are highlighted below while their effects are also explained.

The assumption failed to first identify the cause of the city electric expense increase. There are many factors that could have triggered the hike in fee some of which include an increase in tariff rate, increase in the number of consumers in the city, increase in the hours of usage by individual consumers. Unless the cause of the hike in the expenses is identified, the city won't be able to proffer a solution to the expenses problem they are facing.

Another identified flaw in the argument is the proposition to change the incandescent bulb once they burn out. The argument failed to take into consideration that an average incandescent lamp can last more than a year and the basis of usage can be a huge factor in deciding how long the bulb will last. Likewise, the argument failed to address the issue of commensuration, there are light emitting diodes herein referred to as LED that have higher ratings compared to that of an incandescent bulb. Until the argument is able to address this issue, there is a possibility of the LED having a higher power rating compared to an incandescent bulb.

Furthermore, the argument failed to consider the durability of the LED as compared to incandescent bulb. There is a possibility of an LED lifetime being shorter than that of an incandescent light bulb, which means the LED could be replaced multiple time during a lifetime of a single incandescent bulb hence increasing the cost of purchasing the bulbs and simultaneously increasing the electricity expenses.

Conclusively, the argument failed to distinguish whether the expenses being inferred covers the cost of purchasing and servicing electrical installations and other electrical power consuming equipment as it is a known fact that electrical gadgets and equipments consume more electricity than any lighting fixtures ever will. The councils need to address all these identified flaws before a meaningful and logical solution can be attained.