In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with cleanAll used far fewer sick leaves than employees working in the buildings cleaned with the other cleaners. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleaners.

Write the response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Author of the argument claims that to prevent employees from illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleaners. To buttress his claim author gives two evidences; it was found in laboratory that CleanAll was to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study shows that employees working in buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick leaves than employees working in the buildings cleaned with the other cleansers. The argument is unconvincing and polemical since it uses illogical and unwarranted assumptions, that when put in perspective fails to withstand sustained rational scrutiny.

The argument wrongly assumes that CleanAll in laboratory was compared with next best cleanser without giving any evidence of next best cleanser. For example it might be possible that next best cleanser which author claims might be worst cleanser in the market then which makes CleanAll second worst cleanser in the market and to promote CleanAll, the worst cleanser is posed as next best cleanser, then all the claim made by the author about CleanAll would be phony .Therefore, author should have provided the evidence that the next best cleanser is truly next best cleanser in the market , failing to do so undermine the assumption of the author.

It is also assumed that due to the use of CleanAll by employees working at buildings, number of sick leaves are far fewer than the employees working in the buildings cleaned with the other cleaners. Author directly connects the use of CleanAll with the sickness of the employees without providing evidence regarding it. As we all know that not all sickness are due to cleanliness of the working place; other factors such as temperature, work pressure and number of working hours et cetera affects the employees health which author fails to consider. For example comparison done by author of both types employees of using CleanAll and ones not using, it might be possible that employees not using CleanAll have more sick leaves due to other factors like work pressure, number of working hours et cetera . Therefore, author should have provided evidence to buttress his claim.

Further it is claimed by the author that CleanAll is best cleanser and should be used by all companies as their industrial cleansers with limited explanation that too with many loopholes in it . Author assumption of CleanAll as best cleanser without any concrete evidences made this claim farcical . Author should have provided the more evidence regarding the experimentation done in laboratory and further more study is needed to buttress his claim.

There are many unwarranted assumptions that significantly undermine the effectiveness of the argument and makes it open to censure. As a reader or an analyst one cannot agree with this argument which uses terms and data in crude manner and is at times guilty of distorting facts at the cost of objective and rational analysis.