Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

he given statement states that governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military. The given statement is marred by indiscriminate word choice which reduces its efficacy and renders the sentiment expressed superficial. The given statement is opinionated , marginal and subjective in nature which compromises the clarity, potency and invalidates the merit of the sentiment expressed by it.

To begin with use of word arts is polemical as it is a broad term which should be specified in the above statement. Above statement should have specified this word whether it include all types of arts which include artistic building art, writing art , portrait and sculpture art et cetera or just one type of art. Statement should also specified the advantage of investing in arts in the above statement for example, if arts mentioned in above includes all type of arts then it can be a lucrative source for the betterment of economy as various various types of arts such as building a beautiful buildings might attract tourists from all over the world which further improves the economy condition of a country but if it include only one type of art then it would be a foolish decision to invest in one type of art as much as government invest in the military. Therefore, word arts in above statement should be specified.

Additionally, it can be argued that investing in the arts as much as government invest in the military is not a feasible option as investing in the military is necessity of a government for the protection of its people while this is not the case in the arts. Government invest more in the military because its a national security concern as military provides protection to citizen of its country while investing in the arts similar to military is not important as it does not concern the security of a country for example, if a war broke out then the military which is highly equipped and trained would be the one to win while arts do not win the war or protect its citizen from a external attack. Thus, investing in the arts as much as in the military is not a feasible option for a government.

Finally, it can be said that investing in arts as much as in the military would generate massive pressure on the economic budget of country as all country cannot afford to invest in the arts as much as investing in the military. Rather investing hefty amount in the arts same investment can be used in the building better infrastructure, providing better health facilities et cetera. For example a poor country cant afford investing in arts as much as investing in the military.

It can be concluded that by ignoring the factors which are critical for assessment of the statement given above the issue becomes unilateral and subjective in nature. On grounds of pure logic and reason one cannot agree with above statement which suffers a great extent due to use of words that in themselves poorly defined and used in desultory manner.