A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. Company further states that recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and it should not devote further resources to the investigation. To bolster this claim the company states that the pet food test samples were taken from recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. The argument is unconvincing since it makes illogical propositions and unwarranted assumptions, that when put to perspective fails to withstand sustained rational scrutiny.

To begin with the argument assumes that food sample taken from recalled food have the chemicals which all are approved by the authority to use in the pet food without providing data on the sample size and experimental details not explained in above argument. For example, argument states that 4 million pounds of pet food recalled but no evidence is given the amount of pet food taken for the investigation, it might be possible that small amount

of pet food taken in the experimentation and based on the result, company makes such claims; evidence regarding experimentation procedure is necessary to bolster the assumption in above argument. Therefore, it is illogical to accept that tested sample from recalled food contains chemicals which are approved without providing evidence regarding test sample size and experimentation details.

The pet company assumes that the experiment done by it detects all the chemicals presented in the pet food without providing further data to corroborate this assumption. It can be argued that experimentation done by the company to detect the chemicals in the pet food is not up to the mark or is of a low quality for example it might be possible that certain chemicals used in making of pet food when used individually are benign but when mixed make new compound that is detrimental for the dog health and experiment done to detect chemicals in the pet food fails to detect such kind of chemicals. Therefore, data should be provided on the experimentation done by the company to detect all the chemicals in pet food.

It can be further argued that it is not specified in the argument that whether company tested the samples of pet food on the dogs in the labs and monitored their health or check any malicious effect on the dog by intaking of pet food or not. It is important to use the pet food as experiment on dogs in lab before releasing such product on market but no such detail is given in the above argument regarding it.

There are many unwarranted assumptions that significantly undermine the effectiveness of the argument and make it open to censure. As a reader or an analyst one cannot agree with this argument which uses terms and data in crude manner and it at times of distorting fact at the cost of objective and rational analysis.