The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The city council proposed of reducing the city's electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes and the switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out .They bolstered their proposal by citing that LED lights burn brighter than incandescent bulbs and cost no more to purchase .Thus the switch would help Town X save money in electrical costs in future . The proposal is unconvincing since it some important questions have been left unanswered .The same seriously undermines the credibility and invalidates the merit of the proposal.

The first and foremost question that need to be answered on the lack of more data provided on the LED by the city council . City council in their proposal did not give sufficient data on why LED lights are better than incandescent bulbs ? Information like time duration of LED ,electricity consumption etc would have been given by them to further bolstered their proposal for example it might be possible that time duration of LED lights are less than that of the incandescent bulbs then it would increase the cost as LED lights need to be changed frequently. More data should have been provided by the city council to strengthen their proposal.

Additionally we need answer to the question based on lack of data on electricity consumption of the city . City council solely focused on the incandescent bulbs and ignored many others factors which would have been taken into consideration in order to save electrical costs in future. Factors like usage of other appliances such as industrial appliances , home appliances and office appliances .For example it might be possible that people of Town X used air conditioners frequently which greatly increases the electrical cost , it might also be possible that Town X might be a hub of industries which uses appliances of heavy electricity consumption. Data on other factors should have been taken into consideration by the city council.

Further, answers to the question based on whether LED lights can be directly replaceable or not . It should have mentioned in the proposal that whether the LED light will require new fixtures or can be replaced directly and fixed into old ones . As it can increase the budget of the project with a heavy workload which can be not so good idea focusing on the electrical costs reduction.

Therefore by failing to answer critical questions like the ones mentioned above the proposal exposes its inherent fallacies. To fully understand the merit of above proposal one needs cogent answers to the questions posed above , since the proposal fails to deliver on this count we reject it in totality.