Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement states that mass media and internet have caused people's attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up to for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what's important. The given claim statement is marred by indiscriminate word choice which renders the sentiment expressed by it superficial. This statement is marginal, polemical and subjective in nature which reduces its efficacy and on grounds of pure logic and reason one cannot agree with the sentiment expressed by above statement.

To begin with the use of term people in above statement is polemical as it is a broad term that must be defined in the statement. This term is broad in the sense that each individual has it's own unique intellectual level and it cannot be expected from all people to sort through myriad of information from mass media and internet and choose what's best for their interest and term people include humans from all ages even school or kinder garden going students. We cannot expect student of such age to have that intellectual level enough to sort information and choose what's best for them for example school level student cannot learn topic such as machine learning own their own by searching on the internet and choose best course as internet contains myriad of information regarding machine learning and without guidance it would be a gigantic task for a student to sort best course to learn about machine learning. Thus statement should have specified the term people in above statement.

Above statement states that people are less able to focus on one thing but they more make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find's what's important. It can be argued that rather focusing on one thing and giving much attention to number of things would confuse most of people as they would not be able to concentrate on one thing which results in getting confused and incensed, it would further results into lack of determination for example, if a person wants to learn thermodynamics and searches for the information from internet and gets result about thermodynamics with other topics such as optics, quantum mechanics and starts reading them too instead of focusing on one topic, a person ended up reading myriad of topics that would lead to confusion and thus lose in determination. Thus it is better to focus on one thing rather on many things.

Above statement states that mass media and internet have caused people's attention spans to shorter and stating it as a positive effect instead of positive this kind of attitude leads to have detrimental effects. This kind of attitude in a person leads to lack of concentration and critical decision making of a person. Thus instead of having positive effect, it would have a negative effect on a person.

It can be concluded that by ignoring the critical factors which are essential for the assessment of the above statement in a comprehensive manner the issue becomes somewhat unilateral and subject to subjective generalization. On grounds of pure logic and reason one cannot agree with the above statement which suffers a great extent due to use of words that in themselves poorly defined and used in desultory manner.