"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that over the past year, the crust copper company ahs purchased over 10000 square miles of land in the tropical region nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. To prevent disaster author states that consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans. The argument is unconvincing and polemical since it makes illogical propositions that when put to perspective fails to withstand rational perusal.

To begin with author of the argument assumes that 10000 square miles of land purchased by CCC in tropical region nation of West Fredonia consisted of several endangered animal species without providing evidence regarding geographical distribution of animals and the land purchased by the CCC in West Fredonia. For example, it might be possible that the land purchased by CCC in the region do not contain endangered animal species or near it, if this is the case then there would be no harm to the animals when CCC starts copper mining. Therefore, author should have provided us that evidence regarding geographical distribution of the area.

Additionally, author assumes that to prevent environmental disaster consumers should refuse the CCC copper products. By stating this statement authors ignores several factors which are essential to corroborate author's statement which include quality of CCC copper products and production of it by CCC. For example, it might be possible that copper products by CCC are of top-notch quality and production rate of CCC might be greatest in the copper product market, if this case persist then consumers would not have choice to refuse CCC products. Thus author should have taken this factors in account before stating such statement.

Furthermore, argument assumes that mining of copper releases lot of pollution in the environment without providing data regarding this assumption. Author should have provided data regarding pollution stats before making such assumption for example, in this age of technology, the machines used in the mining of copper are designed such that they produce minimum of pollution that is harmful to the environment.

There are many unwarranted assumptions that significantly undermines the effectiveness of the argument given above and make it open to censure. As a reader we cannot agree with this argument which uses terms and data in crude manner and is at times of distorting facts.