People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given statement tells us that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those emotions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. The given statement is marred by indiscriminate word choice which greatly reduces its efficacy and renders the sentiment expressed superficial. The statement becomes polemical, opinionated and subjective in nature which compromises the clarity, potency and the sentiment expressed.

To begin with use of word emotion as it is a very broad term used in above statement and should be specified in it. Emotion is a broad term which represent different kind of emotions as above statement states that decision taken based on emotion are poor decisions while it is true for some of the emotions such as anger, revenge, greed, jealousy are not good for decision making but there are some emotions which have salubrious effect on decision making, such emotions include confidence, calmness etc. For example, if a student studies with the emotion of jealousy, belittling his peers in a particular subject then the decision taken by that in exam or regarding studies would have detrimental effect on him but the same student studies with the emotion of curiosity and enjoyment would make correct decision in that subject and excel in it. Therefore, above statement should have specified the kind of emotion.

Additionally, it can be argued that above statement fails to consider the situations due to which one has to take decision based on emotions or not. As we know that every decision taken by us is based on the situation that compels us to take certain decision while some situations are like that decisions taken with emotions have detrimental effect while other situations in which decision is based on emotions have genial effect. For example in a time of war army has to take decisions without considering emotions of its soldiers because decisions taken based on emotions in war time can have disastrous after effects while it is not case for politicians as politicians have to take decision based on the people's emotions. Thus, type of situation should be specified by the statement.

Above statement states that people who takes decision based on emotion and justified those decisions afterwards are poor decision makers. Sentiment expressed by this statement is bigoted in the sense that it view only one side of a process ignoring the other. As good decision makers are the one who takes decision based on situation and knows its after effects wether those decision are based on emotion or not.

It can be concluded that by ignoring the factors that are critical for assessment of the statement given above in a comprehensive manner the issue becomes somewhat unilateral and subject to subjective generalization. On grounds of pure logic and reason one cannot agree with this statement which suffers a great extent due to use of words that are in themselves poorly defined and used in desultory manner.