The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

A parent of a private school student wrote a letter to the principal of that school citing that to replace Swift with another vendor otherwise there would be serious health consequences for Kensington students. It was further written in letter that last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift nutrition. This company serves low fat, low calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable based on his/her son and several of his friends complaints about lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. The argument is unconvincing since some important questions left unanswered, the same seriously invalidates the credibility and merit of the argument.

To begin with first and foremost answer to the question required that author of above argument cites students of Kensington do not like the food given by the Swift Nutrition just based on the complaints of his/ her son and his/her son's friend. A detailed survey of students views on food quality and taste must be presented to bolster this claim made by author in above statement for example it might be possible that except his/her son and several of his friends, other students enjoyed the taste of the food given by the Swift Nutrition and if this is the case then claim done by the author regarding taste would become biased. Therefore, detailed data of views of all students must be provided regarding taste quality of the food given by the Swift Nutrition.

We need answer to the question regarding the prediction done by the author that there would be serious health consequences for Kensington students based on the assumption that students would bring their own food rather of eating the food provided to them. Data is needed to bolster this prediction done by the author regarding the number of students bringing their own food for example if very few students bring their own food rather of eating food provided by Swift Nutrition which is a low fat food cited by the author then there would be no serious health concern for Kensington students. Therefore, author should have provided more data regarding number of students bringing their own food.

We need answer to the question that suppose vendor with another vendor as author wishes to happen but what is the surety that his/her son and his several friends would not complain about the lunch option again ? Author should have provided the data or evidence regarding question posed in this paragraph for example, it might be possible that another vendor provide same quality of food as provided by Swift Nutrition then replacing of Swift Nutrition would be of no use. Thus answer to this question must be provided by the author to bolster the claim done by him/her.

Therefore, by failing to deliver the cogent answers to the questions mentioned above, the argument exposes its inherent fallacies. One need cogent answers to the questions posed above, since argument fails to deliver on this count, we reject it in totality.