The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

An article written by Dr. Karp states that children that children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village, refuting the claims done by an observation done by Dr. Field 20 years which claimed that children in Tertia is reared by an entire village instead of their own biological parents. Furthermore, author claims that his observation would establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in island of Tertia and in other island cultures. The article is rendered ineffective since it makes some illogical claims that do nor survive the logical dissection. The same seriously undermines merit of the argument and belies its inherent fallacies.

To begin with we need specific evidence for the claims done in the above article. We need data of the parameters on which both observation is compared which include sample size of children taken in study, whether both study conducted in same community or region. For example, if sample size of children whose interviews are conducted are less than sample size of Dr. Field study then it belies the claim done by Dr. Karp; region or community on which both study is done is of same community or a different one. Therefore, data on parameters of comparison should have been provided by the author.

Claims done by the Dr. Karp can be refuted as time difference between both study is huge which is of 20 years. A lot of parameters on which both study are compared changed in this kind of time gap for example it might be possible that cultural trend of Tertia might be changed and now children instead by the whole village are reared by their biological parents. Thus, a huge time gap can refute the claims done by the Dr. Karp.

Evidence is required to corroborate the claim done by the author that his observation provided much more accurate understanding of child rearing traditions in island of Tertia and of other island cultures. Author has compared his study with only one study that is of 20 years before study instead of comparing with recent observation and with multiple studies for example there might be possible that other study presented on child rearing traditions in island of Tertia provide more detailed and accurate results then Dr. Karp study. Therefore, author should have compared with multiple study before making the claims.

It is evident that specific evidence if provided could have enhanced the merit of above article. Since the article fails to provide evidence for the claims, on grounds of pure logical and reason we can reject this argument owing to its inherent flawed structure and severely limited scope.