The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school Last year Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor Swift Nutrition This company serves low fat low calorie meals th

There is a complaint raised by a parent to the principal of Kensington's school regarding the change in cafeteria's management that is supposed to serve healthy meals to the school students. As anticipated, the cafeteria failed to meet the requirements of the students which made the parent to seek the principal's attention. At first glance, the memo stating the serious health consequences for Kensington students may appear plausible, but there are serious flaws that the parent failed to substantiate with proper evidences.

The parent of the student warns about the health consequences that the students are about to face based upon unwarranted assumptions. Does a low calorie diet or a meal supposed to detriment the health ? Should there be any possible reason behind a low calorie diet affecting the appetite of students, then the parent's warning could be taken in to consideration. The author of the arguments failed to address the details on the menu served to the students. There may be a possible conflict of choices between the preferences of students and healthy food option. For instance, a green sandwich option is much more healthier meal compared to a tasty bacon or hotdog. While hotdogs may be the option children may prefer, a healthy food server may no such varieties to address the eclectic taste buds of students.

Furthermore, the parent assumes that children may stick to bringing their own unhealthier meals. Even though it s the responsibility of a parent to pack healthier meals, the author carelessly points about pupil preparing their own meals. Is this even possible without proper parent's guidance? Had the author mentioned about the loss the cafeteria may incur in the near future, then the statement seems valid. This assertion regarding the meals packed holds no water which in turn undermines the effort put by the parent to ensure kid's health. Moreover, the parent presumes that an unenjoyable meal with meagre lunch options is surely unhealthy. How about a kid enjoying pizza over green vegetables? In fact, drawing conclusions from a child's point of view is far more unrealistic than understanding the righteous meal. Thus, the author's reprimanding about the health issues holds no water.

To recapitulate, the predictions regarding health without appropriating details and concluding based on a child's preference regarding meal is quite irrational. However, if the parent had provided details about the lunch options and the calorie deficit meals served with exacting about the ingredients used for preparation, then the consequences faced can be evaluated.