An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

The technology breakthrough has impacted the education sector tremendously. There has been a shift in the materials provided to the children replacing the books and print outs with tablets and laptops. This is particularly predominant in a highly upgraded world class schools in the urban areas. There are both pros and cons in using technological items for learning purposes. In my opinion the shortcomings outweigh the advantages of using these technology.

Exposing the children to LED display as a routine can have a drastic impact in their eyesight. This has been observed in students who already have ample screen time at home. Apart from this, children are prone to serious addiction to the screen time. There can be a lot of diversions while using technological items. There is no proper assurance that children are only learning the specific educational topics. For example, a pre-teenager is easily attracted towards playing online games and a teenager is easily lured towards social media. Unless, there is a proper age restrictions imposed on the websites used, children cannot concentrate on the educational material as instructed. A proper didactic smart machines exclusively for children is the only way to improvise educational standards. Moreover, many of the teachers in the teaching community are not able to cope up with the exponentially changing technology used in education. There are many limitations observed from the primary school teachers who are not very well trained to meet the technological needs expected from the school. In fact, there seems to be a lacuna of knowledge about the usage of technology. Primary school teachers are expected to be some technicians rather than establishing a friendly bond with the students. Apparently, there is a void between the teacher and the students with no special interactions among them. Students lag in communication and social interactions with smart machines in hand on a daily routine.

However, there are also a few advantages rendered by using these smart items for education. The desktop publishing tools, multimedia effects and graphics, excel sheets which are projected for the students in classroom can make the classes more interesting and easier to grab the concepts when compared to the age old method of manual drawings by the teacher on blackboards. For example, a teacher can easily show the graph implementation of a linear equation or use colorful pie charts for data interpretation problems. Geography teacher can easily exhibit the maps with different gradations for landscapes and oceans. Such wonderful presentation can entrench the knowledge deeply in to the students and make them more inclined towards learning.

To recapitulate, technology has it's own best and worst impact. It all depends upon the right platform that we use it to help our future generations. Though, machines have supplanted many of the primitive models used in schools, a true social collaboration is achieved only with limited usage of technological items.