The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater Despite its downtown location the Rialto Movie Theater a local institution for five decades must make big changes or close its doors forever It should f

In a business plan suggested by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater, he quotes for a retrofit to the old-fashioned movie theater to retain its customers and enhancing their business. While the manager thinks it a sound plan for renovating the theater, his assumptions are flawed significantly with unwarranted assumptions. The reasons can be attributed specifically based on three interpretations.

Firstly, the author assumes that the new Apex theater with all its sophistication might be the reason to pull customers regardless of the location of the theater. Perhaps, the reason to choose Apex theater could be its prime attraction inside the mall. Even if we assume that people chose Apex theater for its luxurious addons, however the ratio of the population is to be considered for assessment of profits. The author hereby failed to juxtapose the location considerations for Apex and Rialto. When Rialto is in a prime location with dense population, and Apex on the outskirts of the city with comparatively less density of people, the choice of comparison of both the theater proves to be primarily flawed. What if the people who visited the mall develop the tendency to opt for a movie night? Therefore, the avant-garde of the Apex theater is the only reason for its crowd stands fallacious.

Secondly, the manager announced a survey of respondents stating the nature of price for the less movie goers in Rialto theater. Despite the increased price of newly released movies, around 85% of the people watches the movie in theater. The author failed to mention if the whole population of respondents were referring in specific to the Rialto Theater. When additional details about the nature of the survey and details subjective to Rialto Theater were known, then the author could have a clear claim about the denouement of the survey.

Finally, there could be a possibility for the people in the city to indulge in binge watching movies or series in the newly introduced system of OTG. The manager could have been myopic about the current trends preferred by the people. When most of the newly released movies are prone to be telecasted on OTGs like Netflix and Amazon Prime for packages that are quite affordable and cheaper, people lose the josh in watching the movies in a theater. Perhaps, they may save economically and watch the preferred series or movies at their comfort in home along with folks, munching and partying together. If these scenarios prove to be true, then the manager’s conclusion about retrofitting the Rialto Theater renders the plan to be futile.

To conclude, the author should have a brief analysis about the facts discussed before jumping into conclusions that is implausible at various instances. In case, there is a lucrative profit to be expected for the theater, there are more groundworks that must be addressed before initiating a plan that may still cause a serious loss for the finance of the theater.