The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater concluded that if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex. However, the author supports his conclusion with three unfounded assumptions, if refuted, will dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. For evaluating the argument, three question must be answered.

Firstly, is Apex able to attract the moviegoers? The author assumes without any evidence that the moviegoers are inclined to the Apex Theater, but this may not be true. It is possible that Apex movie theater is not popular in moviegoers. Apex may attract the children for their ostentatious features. It is possible that the movie industies are not producing good movies, for this reason the number of moviegoers are decreasing day by day, so no adding of extra features and changes are able to attract the viewers to the theater. If any of the cases is true, then the managers' conclusion will not make any sense.

Secondly, Apex may attract more viewers, but is the overall condition of the Rialto and Apex same? The manager presumes that the every factor of these two theater are same. However, the case may not be necessarily true. In the argument it is clearly stated that Apex is at the outside of the city and in a mall. On the othe hand, Rialto is at the downtown. It is possible that during weekend the city people visit the mall and at the same time most of them visit Apex, but Rialto is at the downtown and may be it is a seperated structure, so it is only for the people who actually inteded to watch movies. The number of actual moviegoers may be small amount. If the case is true, then only to add same features as Apex will not be effective for the Rialto, they need to change their location also and, thus, it weaken the arguments.

Finally, is the survey done fairly? The author assumes so. It is possible that the survey was done in the poor citizens of the city, who can not afford the present cost of the theater, and they may be small in number, then the argument will not be persuasive.

In conlcusion, by changing Rialto as Apex may ameliorate the present condintion of the theater; however, as it stands now, the conclusion relies on three unwarranted assumptions and make the argument specious and untenable. Therefore, the author should provide additional information regarding the questions to make the argument reasonable and unassailable.