Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

some people say that government should allocate more money for the arts than the athletics because arts are more important than athletics. However, I strongly disagree with these people, and I think that government should spend more money in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams than the support of arts. I will explain my position in two ways.

First of all, government should expend more money to improve athletics because athletics keep the people healthy and sound. For example, when I was in my cadet college, where athletics was one of the most important activity, I participated in many athletic events, and for this, I needed to practice a lot. Those practice sessions helped to gain my physical fitness, and as I was physically perfect and healthy, I was enthusiastic in other activities, such as reading, stage competitions. On the other hand, after my cadet college, I got admission in a technical university, where I had a little chance to participate in sports and athletics. As a result, I have lost my fitness and health, which ultimately made me lazy, feeble, and unproductive. It is important for the people of a nation to be healthy because without health people will become unproductive and lethargic. Development in athletics will encourage people to participate in different events, which will make the the nation healthier and productive, so athletics is important.

Second of all, nation should expend more money for the development of the athletics as it can make a nation glorious. For example, once I have visited Australia and during my travel, a native asked me that from where you have come from. I answered that I am from Bangladesh and then he replied if it is a part of India? I answered negatively that it is an independent country. Suddenly, a man beside us interrupted us and states that you are from the country of Sakib Al Hasan, the number one all-rounder in the world, and then I exclaimed with joy that yes, that is my country. The example illustrates us that athletics is important because it represents a nation to the world and a good athlete can make a nation proud.

In conclusion, whether government will spend more money in support of the arts or in supports of the athletics is a complex issue because art is also important for the development of a nation. However, to me, I believe that athletics is more important, so the government should spend more money in support of athletics than the support of arts.