Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From the very beginning of our human civilization people were very eager to know the reasons of natural occurrence and at many stages of their life they fill need of something and invent their way to fulfill their need by using their extraordinary sense. Here in the prompt it is stated that many important discoveries are accidental. I strongly disagree with this statement for mainly two reasons.

Firstly, most of the discoveries are done just because of our need. Now our need is obvious, we know clearly about our needs, to fulfill this need some special human we call them scientist or engineer research to find a way to fulfill that particular need. For instance, in hot country it is need something that keep their living places cool or they need something to preserve their food from this hot weather. Once scientist know the demand they started to research how to invent a machine that can cool hot weather. By using thermodynamics law and different physical science scientists invent air conditioner and refrigerator. It is clear from the example that creation air conditioner and refrigerator is not accidental rather it is a systematic procedure by which scientists able to invent these for fulfilling a particular need.

Secondly, most of the scientific theories discovered by arising questions and answering those questions. For example, we all know about the story of Sir Isac Newton about how he discover gravity: once he sit down under a apple tree and suddenly an apple fall down, then he asked himself why it has fallen down and then he discover gravitation by started to answering that question. It is not accidental rather it is his systematic way of answering his question. We all know about Einstein how he discover his great theory ‘ theory of relativity’. How can anyone say that is accidental.

At last, few discovery like radioactivity by Kuri may be accidental. But, almost every discovery and creation in this world is the result of systematic research and development. A car, smart phone, internet, spaceship, sting theory, theory of relativity can not be accidental.