The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries concluded that by installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, the company can prevent empoyees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic, and improve their overall profits. However, the author supports his conclusion with three unfounded assumptions, if refute, will dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the vice presidents presumes that employees of the company use Internet only for the personal and entertaining activities. However, the case may not be true. In this present days there many official works, which are online based, so it is possible that the employees are using Internet for the office purposes. For example, the product of the Industry can be sold in online market and it is likely that maximum of the buyers are online, so the selling and marketing departments need to deal with internet.It is also possible that employees often need to check their emails, which are very much important to them, and for checking emails, employees need to use Internet. If any of the cases is true, then the prohibition in using internet will hamper the employees to operate their regular official works. Therefore, the recommendation of the vice president will not be valid one for the improvement of the company.

Secondly, the author assumes that the software to monitor the Internet use by employees is available, but this may not be necessarily true. It is possible that ther is no software, which can monitor the internet use. It is also possible that if there is any software to detect Internet use, cannot detect the user using it for the official works or for the personal works. If the case is true, then the author conclusion will not hold the water.

Finally, the writer claims that company computers are the only device to use internet and using internet is the only way to waste time in the office. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that maximum of the employees have their own smartphone, so they can easily use internet in the office without being noticed. It is also possible that the employees do not waste much time on internet, rather they waste more time by gossiping or many of the employees waste time by sleeping in the office. If any of the cases is true, then the argument will not be overly persuasive.

In conclusion, reduction of internet use in th office hour may help the company to make the intended results; however, as it stands now, the recommendation of the vice president relies on three unwarranted assumptions and make the arugument specious and untenable. Therefore, the author should provide additional information regarding the assumptions to make the recommendation reasonable and valid.