There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Human being can never live alone. Every species is important in the ecosystem of this world, and every species is interrelated to each other. The prompt states that there is little justification for society to make extraordinary effort to save endangered animal or plant species- especially at a great cost in money and jobs. I strongly disagree with the statement and argue that humans should make extraordinary effort to save endangered species for their own betterment. My stand is based on two reasons.

Firstly, at the present situation of the world, different activities of humans are responsible for the extinction of the other species. For example, the habitat of the wild life is decreasing day by day due to fulfilling the need of the increasing population. We can take account of Royal Bangle Tiger. Royal Bangle is one of the indigenous species of the world largest mangrove forest Shundarban. Due the extensive increase of the population in Bangladesh, where the Shundarban is situated, the area of the Shundarban is decreasing, so the habitat of the tiger is also decreasing. The surprising result is that the total amount of the Royal Bangle tiger is only 250 and this number is also decreasing day by day as native people frequently killing tiger for their safety. So to maintain the increasing human population the habitat of the wild life is decreasing, which is the major cause for the species extinction in some part of the world. Thus, human should find a way to preserve those species, as they are directly responsible for the extinction.

Secondly, the advancement of the industry and technology is responsible for the decreasing of the species. For example, the advancement of nuclear science. We know that the radiation emitted by the radioactive materials used in nuclear power plant is deleterious for the living being. It is observed that the many plant species around a nuclear power plant, which were used to grow before establishment of the power plant, are not growing any more. Not only nuclear power plant, we all know the detrimental effects of the effluents released by the chemical industries, textile industries. The plastics that we are using disturb the normal habitat of the ocean life. Last year in Australia due to forest fire about 50000 animal died and thousand acre of forest burned, and this frequent forest fire is only due to the temperature rising in the world. This temperature rising is also effect of industrialization. Hence, the advancement of the technology and industry is responsible for declining of many animal and plant species.

In conclusion, it is clear that humans are responsible for the decrease of the species. Therefore, human being should take extraordinary efforts in term of costs and jobs to save the endangered species, as it is not possible for human to live alone in the planet.