In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Experts are those who have a profound knowledge and a long-term experience in their relevant fields. The prompt states that in any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions. I mostly disagree with the statement and argue that expert is more likely to make contributions than beginner in any field of inquiry. My stance is based on two reasons.

Firstly, experts have a deep knowledge and a vigorous experience in their fields. They can easily solve a problem and correlate the incidences at the time of inquiry from their previous experiences. A profound knowledge is very much helpful to find the real way of inquiry. For example, in continuous process plant, an engineer may face many problems at the time of operation. To shoot those troubles immediately is the main concern for an engineer. For troubleshooting the steps are to find the area where it is troubling, take necessary steps to make it correct without hindering the continuous operation, and to find the reason of the malfunction. In these every steps one need to have a deep knowledge about the process plant. Without the knowledge, an engineer will not able to find the reason, the location and the area of the trouble. For this reason for troubleshooting, there is always a knowledgeable person in the group to provide the exact direction. The example illustrates us that for proper inquiry and for necessary steps an expert is needed.

Experience is often helpful for personnel in inquiry. Experiences help a responsible one to find the reasons. For example, in field of detective, a detective need to find reason and the criminal for an occurrence. For detecting one, who has profound experience in the field, can easily find out the motive and the suspected one by correlating from his or her previous experiences. On the other hand, a neophyte is not habituated in this field, he or she may detect the reason and criminal, but it will be time consuming and in most of the cases, the perfect result may not be found. Therefore, inquiry in any field an expert can make greater contributions than a beginner.

However, sometimes, a callow fallow can make an extraordinary contribution in inquiry in a new field. An expert has a disadvantage that is he or she has tendency to use his or her experience in any case. However, for a new case, a novel idea is needed. In this case, a tyro can contribute because he or she is able to use his insight to find the solution without any influence from his or her experience. A new one is more likely to provide a new idea in any field, and these new ideas are very much conducive to look in the field of inquiry from other side. Therefore, for finding a new solution in any field an inexperienced and a beginner can make creditable contribution in some cases.

In conclusion, beginner may sometimes contribute in a field inquiry, but the occurrence is often a serendipity. Therefore, in any field of inquiry, expert is more likely than beginner to make important contributions.