Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Subject choice is one of the vital event for a student during his or her college and university admission. Students are always encourage to follow their interests and talents to choose their feild of studies at the time of admission. The prompt claims that colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance because general college students prefer to follow directions rather that make their own decisions. I strongly agree with the claim, but I cannot accede to the reason.

Firstly, elective subjects are the wastage of time for most of the college and university students. College and university are the educational institutions, where students choose a particular subjects mostly depending on their own choice for a comprehensive study on that subject particularly. An elective subject generally an irrelevant course from a particular field often cause to wastage of time for a student. For example, an course on English literature is offered to Chemical engineering students as elective subject. An engineering student may not be interested in literature, so to pass in that elective subject he or she need to give extra effort, which will cause time waste for that student. Sometimes, student fail in elective courses, in that case, the student need extra semester to pass in that subeject. The examples shows us that elective subjects hamper the students regular academic life and become a reason for extra time.

Moreover, to complete a elective course a student need to pay some money, and this causes wastege of money for the students. For example, in a semester, if a student need to take an elective course, then in that semester the student should pay tution fee for that course. Students are not interested in the offered elective course, even though to complete the credit they need to take the courses. Whenever a student enroll a subject, he or she need to pay for that. Therefore, elective courses couse a student in superfluous payment.

Finally, students are independent to choose their field of study during admission of college and university. Sometimes, students choose subjects on the basis of job market, still it is the students choice. Therefore, a student neve encourage to follow a particular direction rather it is preferred to follow their own choice.

In conclusion, elective subject can enhance the student's knowledge; however, those elective subjects most of the time prclude students to their graduation. Therefore, colleges and universities should eliminate elective subjects to make the students life more easier.