4. Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

We are now living in an age of information and technology; we also now able to answer a lot of question about natural incidents which questions were hounding people from century to century. This development of science and technology is the result of researches. The mentioned prompt states that government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are ambiguous. I mostly stand against this statement. My position is based on two reasons against and one reason for the statement.

Firstly, consequences of a research is perspective, which depends on the understanding level of the personnel. Objectives of a research may be lucid to scientists but may not for government officials. For example, many American Physics lab are now collaborating for research of neutrino a mysterious particle of this universe. They are trying to developing a lab combinedly. If they can find the characteristics of this particle, could answer many unanswered question about this universe. For establishing, such lab will take billions of dollars. Now, government may not understand about the value of this research. Government may think it is a mere particle does not deserve much money. However, researchers know well what will be the consequences of this research if they can find out their intended results. If government does not agree to fund this research, some important question about this mysterious universe may remain mysterious.

Secondly, the research that may seem inconsequential at present may open the door for many effective scientific findings. For instance, atomic model of Rutherford, we know there are a lot of limitation of this model, but it is also true that the development of atomic model is started with this model. We all heard about a part of physics named quantum physics. This part of physics is abstruse to the lay people. Now we all know that this quantum physics is now capable to answer many vague question about the universe and it opened a door for a new technology called Nano-technology. If the researcher did not get the funding in these areas then it for sure that development in this field may not be possible.

However, we always have the paucity of money. A research need copious amount of money to proceed. It is not possible for a government to fund for all and any research. For example, during the pandemic of Corona virus the economy of the whole world plummeted. Therefore, it is obvious that government will not fund for the astronomy rather they will fund more in field of life science. Government has limitation: it can not provide funding for all and any research because of scarcity of resources.

In conclusion, this is a complex issue that government should or should not fund any research if it seems inconsequential because limitation in economy. However, for the development of science and world, funding is required for a research which may seem inconsequential today as this research may have the potential to open a new scope, a new world.