The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In the article by Dr. Karp, it is concluded that the observation-centered approach is invalid and an interview-centered approach will be much more effective for understanding the child rearing tradition in Tertia and in other island culture. However, the conclusion relies on three assumptions, if refuted, will dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. Before, evaluating the argument, three pieces of evidence need to collect and analyze.

Firstly, the Dr. Karp assumes that, when children talk more about their biological parents, then they are reared by them. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that the entire village in the Tertia rears the children, but children are more inclined towards the biological parents. Thus, they are talking more about their biological parents. It also possible that the interviewer ask more question about the children’s biological parents. For this reason, the children are more talking about the biological parents. The author did not provide enough evidence about the interview. If any of the cases is true, then the author’s contention will not be perfect and will be questionable.

Secondly, Dr. Karp content that the approach of Dr. Field is faulty and less accurate without providing sufficient information and assumes that only one evidence is enough to decide the accuracy of an approach. However, this may not be necessarily true. It is possible that observation-centered approach by Field is showing the exact picture of the village. On the other hand, interview-centered approach by Karp is not showing the real scenario, and the approach may be biased. For deciding which approach is more accurate author need to provide more evidence, and results. Otherwise, the conclusion will not hold the water.

Finally, Dr. Karp claims that by following the interview-centered approach his team will be able to find accurate information about the other island village, but this may not be the case. It is possible that the other island villages people are not communicative a Tertia. Then, the team may not be able to conduct proper interview. It also possible that the villager of other island are speaking in such language that the language is unable to interpret. If any of the case is true, the interview-centered approach will not be effective and, thus, the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is based on the mentioned assumptions, which make the argument specious and untenable. Therefore, the author need to provide additional evidence to support the conclusion and to make the argument cogent and reasonable.