In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, it concludes that Prunty County should take the steps those are taken by the Butler county five years ago to reduce the road accidents specially in highways. However, this conclusion is based on three unwarranted assumptions, if refuted, immediately weaken the coherence of the conclusion.

Firstly, Prunty county at first took a step to limit the speed from 55 to 45 mile per hour and the authority find it unsuccessful. The question is ‘are they take the necessary steps to monitor properly the speed of the vehicle or are there any significant punishment for those who exceed the limit? It is possible that there is no sophisticated system to monitor the highway that anyone is exceeding the limit or not. If this is true then the driver will not be conscious about the speed. And if there is no significant punishment for the rule breaker then driver will not care about the new rule. So without taking these necessary steps it will be premature decision for the authority to decide that the existing rule is not effective.

Secondly, author claims that Prunty and Butler are similar. It may not be necessarily true. It is possible that the people in Butler are obedient to the government rule and people of Pronty are not. Then only refurbishing the road may not be efficacious for one to decrease the rate of road accidents. Perhaps the roads of Prunty is enough wide and smooth but the people are so rash that cause there frequent accident. Whereas people in Bountry are obidient to the government and abide by the rule so there is a decrease in the accidents. If any of these case are true then the conclusion will lose its persuasiveness.

Thirdly, here author presumes that a policy, which are taken five years ago, is also now effective for a bounty. This may not be true. Five years ago may be the circumstances was different. It is possible that five years ago people in Bounty was more disciplined and the authority was more strict to handle the highway rule to avoid accident so there was a decrease in accident and at present may the accident rate is increasing. Five years ago, the top speed of cars may be lower so it was not concerned about the speed. If any of these cases are true then seriously hamper cogency of the conclusion and make it fallacious.

In conclusion, It may possible that the existing rule is not effective to decrease the accident in Prunty bounty may be the steps taken by the Bounty five years ago will be effective. However, the mentioned assumption need to be clarified and the author should provide the additional information to make the conclusion valid and logical.