The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the mayor of the town of Hopewell concluded that the best way to improve Hopewell's economy and to generate additional tax revenues is to build a gold course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View. The author supports his conclusion with three unfounded assumptions, if refutes, will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, before evaluating the argument, those assumptions need to describe.

First of all, the mayor of Hopewell assumes that the geographical position of Hopewell is similar to the Ocean View. However, the case may not be true. It is possible that Ocean View is beside a sea, and the town has a sea beach or it is also possible that the town is in hilly area, or Ocean View has the natural attraction, which help the town to make a good profit on resort hotel. On the other hand, it is possible that Hopewell is at the middile of urban area, and Hopewell is sorrounded by some other towns. There is a possibility that Hopewell is able to attract the tourist for its lacking in natural beauty. If any of the cases is true, then the mayor's recommendation to make Hopewell similar to Ocean View will not be a effective step and, thus, undermine the argument.

Secondly, the author presumes that the town of Hopewell has enough space for a golf field and resorts, but this may not be the case. It is possible that the town of Ocean View had the sufficient space for building a golf ground and resorts. On the other hand, town of Hopewell has not abundant space for a golf field and resorts as the town may have larger population and Hopewell may be already in lack of space for their own people. If any of the cases is true, then a golf ground and resort will not be possible to build for the town of Hopewell. Therefore, the argument is unpersuasive.

Finally, the author claims that the town of Hopewell is lack behind than the Ocean View in economy. However, this may not be necessarily true. It is possible that the town of Hopewell is already the centre of business in the region and it is almost saturated with the business centre. It is also possible that Hopewell is getting more tax revenue than the Ocean View, then the thirty percent increase in the tax revenue will not be much easier for the Hopewell. If any of the case is true, then the argument will not hold the water.

In conclusion, golf course and resort hotel similar to Ocean View may help Hopewell to improve it's economy; however, as it stand now, the recommendation of the mayor of Hopewell relies on three unwarranted assumptions and make the argument specious and untenable. Therefore, the author should provide additional information regarding the assumptions to make the argument coherent and unassailable.