The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce concluded that by installing high intensity lighting throughout the Ambarg can combat vandalism and by reducing crime in this way, they can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in the city. However, the author supports his conclusion with three unfounded assumptions, if refuted, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Before, evaluating the argument, three pieces of evidence should be collected and analyzed.

Firstly, president assumes that step taken by the city of Belleville will be effective for the city of Amburg to reduce the vandalism. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that most of the casualities in Belleville occure at night, so the installation of high intensity light in the city is effective. On the other hand, in the city of Amburg criminals are active at the day time. Therefore, installation of high intensity light in the city of Amburg will not be a prudent step in reduction of crime. If the case is true, then the author's recommendation will not be efficacious and thus, the conclusion will not hold the water.

Secondly, the author presumes that criminals in the city of Amburg use bicycle, but this may not be the case. It is possible that criminals in Amburg use motorcycle or car for thier criminal activities. It also possible that criminals do not use any kind of vehicle for their popuses. Therefore, patroling on bicycle by the police will not make any difference in vandalism in the city of Amburg. Perhaps, some outsiders of the city are responsible for the existing criminal activities, so the authority can take a step to check the vehicles, which enter into the city from city. If any of the cases is true, then the argument will be seriously undermined.

Finally, the presidents claims that their neighborhoods are declining due to the crime in the city of Amburg without any evidence. However, this may necessarily not be the case. It is possible that there is paucity of job market in the city of Amburg, as a result, the people in the neighbor area of the city are leaving for other city for the search of job. It is also possible that the transportation system to travel to the city is horrible for a long period, and the authority does not take any steps for recovering it, so the neighbors are leaving the area for the hope of a good transportation. If any of the case is true, then the author recommendation to revitalizing the declining of neighborhoods will not be valid.

In conclusion, installing high intensity lighting throughout the city may reduce crime and revitalize the declining neighborhoods in the city; however, the conclusion relies on three unwarranted assumptions, which make the argument specious and untenable. Therefore, the author should provide additional evidence regarding the assumptions and to make the argument cogent and unassilable.