The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce, that by installing high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, vandalism can be reduced, and doing so is a more effective way to combat crime, is not entirely and logically convincing because it is based on a few unproven assumptions. The president claims, via a dubious analogy, that in last October use of high-intensity lighting in its central business district of the City of Belleville, has resulted in a decline in vandalism there in a month. But, the president also mentions that police patrolling on bicycles in the city of Amburg has not been a successful step towards reduction of vandalism. Let us look at the multiple false assumptions and drawbacks that the argument contains.

Vandalism can be of two forms, visible and non-visible. While as the name implies, visible vandalisms such as demolition of properties by local municipalities or graphitic walls are quotidian. Demolition of properties by local municipalities are inevitable if the owner of the property is not responsible enough to pay property taxes on due time. But graphitic walls are consequences of foul and demoralized behaviors by the owner of the properties. No doubt, this form of vandalism can be checked by high-intensity lighting. On the other hand, non-visible vandalisms such as murder of the property owner or involvement of the mafia are unstoppable by high-intensity lighting. It is possible to assume that the city of Belleville has more visible vandalisms than its non-visible counterpart. Moreover, it can also be assumed that the city of Amburg has more non-visible vandalism, which could not be restricted by police patrolling on bicycles.

Another form of vandalism can be property damage, which is pretty self-explanatory, but it can take on many different forms. Sometimes, no matter how well we prepare a store, it still gets trashed. Without warning, we don’t have time to prepare barricades or board up windows. By the time a riot breaks out, our properties see extensive harm and possibly looting. Property damage isn’t only from outside forces, but it can happen from ignored maintenance items as well. According to the law, it can include negligence or acts of nature. Imagine a business with a fleet of vehicles harmed by improperly stored fuel tanks. Property damage can be avoided by staying prepared and aware of current events. Clearly, either negligence or act of God, cannot be prevented by high-intensity lighting or bicycle patrolling. Hence, it is feasible to assume that the city of Belleville has lesser amounts of these uncontrollable events.

To conclude, multiple factors are needed to accounted for while attempting to reduce crimes in a city. The city’s geographic positioning, analysis of previous crime rates in various segments, availability of advanced patrolling methodologies is to name a few. Simply on the basis of a successful method of reducing crime in one city, cannot become successful in another city with completely different circumstances. Hence, on the basis of the above mentioned points and factors, it is disagreeable to claim that installing high-intensity lighting in the city of Amburg could reduce crimes.