Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Government officials are considered and in-fact given the most authority after the Ministers, in any form of government. Hence, it goes without saying, that government officials should be dependent on their own wit, rather than blindly carrying out the will of the people whom they serve. The question is do all government officials perform solely based on their wit? There are instances, where hundreds of people have died due to some dull-witted decisions taken by an avaricious official. On the contrary, on the several other instances, hundreds of people got another life, due to perspicacious decisions by courageous officials.

Dissolute officials receiving allurements from Ministers is mundane in any society/country. These Ministers go up to such an extent, in order to gain financial benefits and business profits, where bribing a government official does not seem to be a crime. Clearly, these officials do not bring into account, their judgements and intelligence, while signing a paper, which would allow loss of lives, capitulating of lands etc. Moreover, in some instances, penurious officials are left with no choices, other than accepting bribes. For example, in an instance in the city of Hyderabad, India, an entire family was destroyed and brought on road by a Minister. After several months of police and media investigations, it was found that one member of the family got into a brawl with the Minister months ago. The demolition of their home was sanctioned by a government official.

Principled officials are always immovable, and no amount of allurements can lure them. These officials are responsible and can be accounted for the impregnable development of the society. For example, a shopping mall or hospital construction is often done by avaricious Ministers. In these scenarios, the Ministers tend to bribe the officials so that some extra floors on the mall or hospital can be built. Had there been some unprincipled officials, they would have easily got lured by the ministers and had permitted construction of extra spaces beyond permission. One would wonder, what worse can happen with these extra spaces construction? These extra construction works can lead to huge devastations such as fire hazards, earthquake demolitions etc. Thanks to the principled officials, that we are safe, even if the society is full of such corrupt officials and Ministers.

United Public Service Commission of India is responsible and answerable to the common citizens of the country. The overall development of the an entire district is dependent on the performance of the UPSC officer. It is clear that such officers receive several requests from the common people, be it fulfillable or unfulfillable, principled or unprincipled. The acceptance of such requests is entirely dependent on the judgements of the officers. Their intelligence and management knowledge comes into play in such scenarios. For example, a principled UPSC officer would permit construction of a new school or a new hospital in villages under his/her authority. Whereas, an unprincipled UPSC officer would permit construction of liquor factories and gas pipelines, which would destroy local agricultural lands.

To conclude, moral judgements of government officials are individualistic, and an aberration from this would lead to significant unfavorable consequences for both the government official as well as the common citizens. It is hence, to be expected from the officials to reverent their respective authorities and keep their greed aside while on-duty. It is the common peoples' responsibility as well, to put unrealistic requests in front of the officials.