Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.

The question is whether the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world. Although, it is difficult to fully agree to this statement, established on the various terror attacks such as 26/11 or wars Israel vs Gaza or frequent cyber attacks on India and China, I would like to agree to the claim that widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on our daily lives. This agreement has been entrenched on several bolstering points. Let me present you with the points.

Firstly, internet has been of great help to not only students, but to any working professionals, housewives, in fact to anyone who can afford internet. A student, from any level of education, gets access to myriad information from the world's most visit website, Google. From a simple math problems to a complex differential calculus, Google has answers to all problems. A teacher or even a professor gets access to indefinite number of research papers on his/her topic of ongoing research. On the other hand, working professionals such as software developers have a website buddy named as stackoverflow, where they get their doubts cleared regarding a computer code. A housewife can spend her day working part-time from home, while taking care of her newborn, with the help of internet.

Secondly, with internet, connectivity between people from around the world has increased several folds. The world has witnessed this magnanimous power of connection with the help of Facebook and Instagram. Businesses grow from scratch to a unicorn's level with the help of internet and social networking. An example would be Unacademy, an Ed-tech startup in India, started in 2014 and is now currently valued at over Four Billion Dollars. Facebook has also helped to increase philanthropic activities. The world has come together in fighting the Covid-19 pandemic, providing financial and material support to the countries which are financially backlogging. Various NGOs have been raising funds through posting on Facebook and Instagram. Easy payment methods has also contributed to this huge cause.

While critics argue that the spread of terrorism also take place through the internet, and cyber criminals get access to our personal data through the internet, these incidents are monitored closely by the national security agencies. In a country like India and China, although tracking the daily internet usage of the common citizens, seems preposterous, but the security agencies such as India's NSA (National Security Agency) and IB (Intelligence Bureau) and China's 610 office, have always done commendable work on doing so. Spread of terrorisms in these countries have been on check since the last known world famous terrorist Osama Bin Laden.

While, it is an eternal debate on the positivity and negativity of internet, based on the examples and scenarios presented above, I would to conclude by agreeing with the positive side of the widespread use of the internet. While the use of internet of completely individualistic, the positive side of the use of internet is always heavier than the negative side.