Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Improving schools is the most important factor for the successful development of a country.

School, in Hindu mythology, is known as "gurukul", a place where a "guru" or a teacher promulgates his/her knowledge and wisdom to his/her students. Since ancient times, a school is considered equivalent to a temple, which seems to be plausible. This is because our learnings start from school itself. Though I agree to the claim that schools don't decide the future of a person, but the quality of education at a school does. Whether a student will like to be a part of academia or get diverted to illegal and antigovernmental methodologies, are dependent on schools. Hence, development of schools, be it a government funded or a private organization funded, is an important factor in the overall development of a country. This can be bolstered by several points.

First, let us consider a school in Taliban occupied Afghanistan and ISIS controlled Gaza or Yemen. In such schools, female pupils are not allowed to enter and male students are taught nothing related to science or mathematics, but only about Quran that too in a modified form. These schools are the theoretical training grounds for ISIS or Taliban's recruitment campaign and eventually the pupils are left with no option but to join these terrorist organizations. Such dissoluteness of these guerilla forces do not help in the development of the country. Raising the topic of development of the nation is futile and hopeless in such a situation.

On the contrary, let us consider a private school in India, which receives funding and other supports from a business organization. In such schools, students receive a quality education, which provides them a backbone to build a fine career, and helps them in pursuing their dreams. In recent times, the government also appreciated such quality of education and started providing development funds to such schools, in addition to government schools. The concomitance of smart classrooms, better libraries, better sports and gymnasium facilities and improved hygiene has earned these schools the title of "temple". Many renowned scientists, athletes and entrepreneurs are alumni of such schools and India is still known produce the highest number of doctors in the world.

Though some critics may argue that spending too much on schools can lead to a compromise to funds that are supposed to get allocated for other important aspects such as defense or healthcare, I personally am in favor of favoritism towards schools. Without schools defense scientists or doctors are a distant dream for any student. In poor countries such as most of the African nations, the governments are trying to improve the quality of education through raising funds from various philanthropists and NGOs such as the Melinda Gates Foundation. Instead they could have solely focused on the overall economic development of their countries, by selling natural resources and lands. This seems to be a perfect example as to why schools are given topmost priority when development of a nation comes into play.

To conclude, with the support from the above mentioned points, it is definite and bromide that schools play a vital role in the development of a country. Though it is not possible for schools to generate a batch of entrepreneurs or a batch of doctors, schools do ensure to provide students with the necessary knowledge or path to gain such knowledge. The governments should focus more on the development of school facilities in order to ensure a increase in literacy rate and consequentially overall development of the country.