Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Improving schools is the most important factor for the successful development of a country.

Recently, whether improving school is the most crucial factor for the successful development of a country has stirred a heated discussion. People's attitudes are divergent on such a controversial issue. Even though many people hold a positive attitude towards it, from where I stand, a contrary scenario is more likely, which can be substantiated by the reasons and examples listed as follows.

It takes us little imagination to foresee that other factors contribute more to a country's success, one of which is the economy. What lies behind it is simple. Most countries prioritize economic development, which means governments will collect more tax money as the economy boosts. Then, by allocating capital to infrastructure construction and public welfare can a country be recognized as successful. My home country, China, is an excellent case in point. Since the central government initiated the Economic Reform in the late 1970s, China has embraced high-speed economic growth in the past decades. The tax income in 2018, according to the National Bureau of Statistics, is approximately one hundred and fifty times greater than that in 1978. It was the increased fiscal income that made the infrastructure improvement possible. By 2018, the total mileage of high-speed railway in service reached 30,000 kilometers, more than two-thirds of the total mileage of high-speed railway in the world. Without sufficient funds, such achievement could be nothing but an illusion.

In addition to the economy, medical service and research are factors that lead a country to success. Medical service safeguards people's health. Its success is directly related to people's happiness which is an important indicator to evaluate a country's success. The COVID-19 pandemic serves as a perfect example to illustrate my point. We lived in fear of the virus due to a lack of understanding when the pandemic first started. Shortly after, the government-sponsored medical institutions led to remarkable breakthroughs in treatment research and vaccine development, making China one of the first countries to vaccinate the public. Vaccines offered strong protection to public health, effectively prevented infection, and stopped the disease from becoming severe. Therefore, life gradually returned to normal. Although there have been small-scale outbreaks, the happiness of Chinese people, I believe, is incomparable.

In a nutshell, based on what has been discussed above, I can safely conclude that improving schools is not the most critical factor for the success of a country. Economic and medical development should be taken into consideration.